Strawberry Sweet Rolls

Well I have been home for over a week at this point. Yesterday I started to go a bit stir crazy– and I actually missed Chicago! I went on a 5 mile run today after scouting all day to clear my head and when I got back.. blogging seemed so much easier! And I just had to tell you about the new recipe I came up with on Thursday… I can’t believe I’ve kept it to myself this long!

IMG_0438

My dad jokes that he brings things home from the supermarket and within 24 hours I have baked them into something. He doesn’t usually bother to ask me if I need anything at this point, he knows I will make something delicious from whatever he gets (aka whatever was on sale at the grocery store). Let’s recap quickly what I’ve made while I visited home.

1. Cake Batter Chocolate Chip Cookies

2. Oreo Chocolate Chip Cookies (my brothers favorites)

3. Blueberry Muffins (per my mother’s demand)

4. Pineapple Sweet Rolls

5. Strawberry Sweet Rolls–> today’s post!

6. Cupcakes with Thick Chocolate Frosting for Four! (recipe is coming soon!)

7. Oreo Truffles (also per my mother’s demand)

8. Blueberry Crumb Bars (recipe is coming soon!)

Besides the fact that this was a work trip for me, so I actually was running around for that, let it be known I was busy. And the next time someone from my family complains I don’t bake for them since I moved… Show them that list. Oh did I mention there is frozen cookie dough in the freezer for them to bake? With directions? Yup. That’s a sure sign I’ve been in the house.

IMG_0433

So I made those pineapple sweet rolls in the beginning of the week…and I’ve been on a sweet roll kick ever since. I have to be honest… I don’t eat much of what I bake. Gasp! This is not because I’m trying to watch my weight or it’s not good… you try having two teenage brothers that act as garbage disposals and have enormous sweet tooths! (sweet tooths? sweet teeth? awkward.) But I did snag a bite of these babies before they were gone and mmm… I love sweet rolls.

Ingredients:IMG_0430

For the dough:

  • 3 cups flour
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 package Red Star Active Dry Yeast
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup milk (I used low-fat)
  • 2 and 1/2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1 large egg

For the filling:

  • 1 cup chopped strawberriesIMG_0437
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter

For the frosting:

  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup powdered (confectioner’s) sugar
  • 1 tbsp milk (or more depending on how thick/thin you like your icing)

Directions:

1. In a large bowl place 2 and 1/2 cups of flour, sugar, salt and yeast and mix together.

2. In the microwave melt together the water, milk and butter until the butter is melted and it is too hot to touch. Add this to the flour mixture and stir together. Add the egg and mix well.  This is when you might need to add more flour, I needed to add about 2 more tbsp. Your dough will be ready when it springs back from your touch and pulls away from the sides of the bowl. It will be slightly  wet which is ok, but you don’t want it to be too sticky!

3. Flour a clean surface and turn out the dough, kneading well for a few minutes. Add flour by tablespoons if it is still too sticky. Lightly butter (or use a non-stick spray) a bowl and place the dough in, let rest for 10-20 minutes in a warm place. (I had the oven on and placed it on top)

4. In a microwave safe bowl, melt the butter until melted.  In a separate bowl mix the strawberries and sugar.

5. Roll out the dough until it reaches about 15×9 in rectangle. Spread the butter on top, leaving a 1/2 inch border on the sides. Sprinkle the strawberry mixture evenly on top. Starting on one of the long sides, roll up the dough tightly, making sure to punch the ends close.

6. Cut the log into 11 rolls and place in a 11×8 in baking pan (this is just what my mom had in her kitchen, you could use a 9 in round baking pan as well!). Cover with foil and place in a warm spot until the rolls are doubled in size, about an hour.

7. Preheat the oven to 375 and bake for 25-30 minutes (mine took 25). I cover the rolls lightly with tin foil to prevent them from browning too much.

8. Make the glaze while the rolls are cooling and pour generously over them. Enjoy!

IMG_0432

NOM.

One thought on “Strawberry Sweet Rolls

Leave a Reply

