Pineapple Sweet Rolls

Okay guys… this recipe is legen..wait for it….dary!

IMG_0386IMG_0389

I love love LOVE cinnamon rolls, but I’ve been wanting to experiment with flavors. I had this great idea to make blueberry sweet rolls, but then wouldn’t ya know it– One of my favorite bloggers posted her own blueberry sweet rolls the week I was planning to make mine! Not wanting to be a copy cat (and I totally loved her post) I have been saving this recipe to make while I’m visiting home.

IMG_0396

My mom and I literally stood at the counter and each ate one of these babies to the last crumb. My brother ate one the second he walked in from football practice (and I think he ate it in 2 bites only!) Finger lickin’ delicious!

IMG_0398

These sweet rolls use the same dough recipe that I’ve been using for a while now, so if you follow along you’ll know just what I’m talking about! (see herehere ) Minus of course the banana in this circumstance.

This recipe is just so fresh and light, it is so perfect for summertime. I’m not a big fan of heavy things when it’s 90 degrees out but these sweet rolls were just perfection. Drool.

Ingredients:

For the dough:IMG_0403

  • 3 cups flour
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 package Red Star Active Dry Yeast
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup milk (I used low-fat)
  • 2 and 1/2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1 large egg

For the filling:

  • 1 cup mashed pineapple (drained a bit)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup butter

For the frosting:

  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup powdered (confectioner’s) sugar
  • 1 tbsp milk (or more depending on how thick/thin you like your icing)

Directions:

1. In a large bowl place 2 and 1/2 cups of flour, sugar, salt and yeast and mix together.

2. In the microwave melt together the water, milk and butter until the butter is melted and it is too hot to touch. Add this to the flour mixture and stir together. Add the egg and mix well.  This is when you might need to add more flour, I needed to add about 2 more tbsp. Your dough will be ready when it springs back from your touch and pulls away from the sides of the bowl. It will be slightly  wet which is ok, but you don’t want it to be too sticky!

3. Flour a clean surface and turn out the dough, kneading well for a few minutes. Add flour by tablespoons if it is still too sticky. Lightly butter (or use a non-stick spray) a bowl and place the dough in, let rest for 10-20 minutes in a warm place. (I had the oven on and placed it on top)

4. In a microwave safe bowl, melt the butter until melted.  In a separate bowl mix the pineapple and cinnamon.

5. Roll out the dough until it reaches about 15×9 in rectangle. Spread the butter on top, leaving a 1/2 inch border on the sides. Sprinkle the cinnamon-pineapple mixture evenly on top. Starting on one of the long sides, roll up the dough tightly, making sure to punch the ends close.

6. Cut the log into 11 rolls and place in a 11×8 in baking pan (this is just what my mom had in her kitchen, you could use a 9 in round baking pan as well!). Cover with foil and place in a warm spot until the rolls are doubled in size, about an hour. (again I used the top of the stove because I was simultaneously making cookies today)

7. Preheat the oven to 375 and bake for 25-30 minutes (mine took 25). I cover the rolls lightly with tin foil to prevent them from browning too much.

8. Make the glaze while the rolls are cooling and pour generously over them. Enjoy!

IMG_0390

NOM.

P.S.

I have a big unveil coming soon…. so stay tuned for my exciting news!! Hoping to fill you all in by next week 🙂

2 thoughts on “Pineapple Sweet Rolls

  1. I love pineapple! They look really good!I’ll try to make them (GF of course!),at least I’ll use the filling from your recipe! 😀 Nice idea!Thanks for sharing it with us 🙂

Leave a Reply

