Guest Post– Sugar Cookie Surprises!

Hi guys!! So my very wonderful friend Sarah wrote you all a lovely blog post because as she explains, I’m super busy running around this weekend and she had a fantastic recipe to share! Just check out how pretty those cookies are and oh man.. the surprise inside?! I know I would eat way too many of these in one sitting…. I’m so grateful that not only do my friends enjoy and support my blog and baking hobby, they want to be apart of it! So here’s to Sarah’s very first guest blogging post (with more to come I’m sure)   🙂

479806_1729401402338_645108975_nThis is me and Sarah being silly at a 90s band concert last summer!

Hello Blogosphere!

This is my blogging debut and I am pretty excited about it!  My dear friend BeeSweetSurrender asked me (well, I may have made a strong suggestion…) to be a guest blogger this weekend as she is too busy running all over the lacrosse field to cook! And yes, Lax is how she can afford to bake this much and still look like a babe… sorry Bee, I’m telling all your secrets 🙂

Anyway… My name is Sarah and I have been Becca’s BFFAEAE since the 7th grade.  Her love of baking has definitely rubbed off on me over the last eleven years (Bee, we should have a birthday party for our friendship!).  I think our first true baking bonding moment occurred a few years ago when I had to put my dog down.  Becca’s solution, as it usually is, was to bake my sorrows away.  This turned into a mini disaster of dog (ish) shaped gingerbread cookies that were AWFUL.  Don’t worry though, a little icing and two younger brothers and none of them went to waste despite their taste… or lack thereof.  Over the years Becca’s baking has obviously improved!!  Mine, however, has been a slightly slower process.  I am more of a direction follower than Bee, but I am starting to become a bit more adventurous! Here is my latest attempt at creating something yummy…

This weekend I am home in Philly for a birthday and naturally that meant baking.  Ro–the birthday princess!– is a HUGE fan of snickers, so that was the inspiration for my cookies.  These sugar cookies are like mini birthday presents, wrapped around a tiny surprise!  Inside each colorful cookie is a half a mini snickers candy bar!  While Ro is a Snickers fanatic, these cookies can be made with any chocolate candy bar your little heart desires!   Get creative with your sugar colors and candy bars and these can be personalized birthday treats for anyone!

Enjoy the cookies and hopefully I’ll be back here again!

Ingredients:image1

3/4 cup butter
2 and 3/4 cup flour
1 and 1/4 cups sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
miniature snicker bars OR 1 huge one cut into pieces
Rainbow sugar sprinkles!

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Cream butter and sugar until light in color in your stand mixer. Add eggs, one at a time, and mix on medium until light and fluffy. Add vanilla. Sift together flour, baking powder and salt. Add to stand mixer, and mix until well combined.

2. To make cookies. Take about 1 mounded teaspoon of cookie dough and wrap it around the snickers bar. Roll the cookie in a circular motion in your hand until you have a nice ball. Add more dough if the chocolate is sticking through anywhere. Then roll in colored sugar

3. Bake cookies at 375 degrees for 15 minutes.

image

xxx,

Sarah

2 thoughts on “Guest Post– Sugar Cookie Surprises!

  1. Those sugar/Snicker cookies were delicious. The recipes on this blog all look so yummy. I will be trying them! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

