Banana Monkey Bread Muffins– re done!!

So my roommate Klerlie loved my Banana Monkey Bread Muffins so much she asked me to make them again this past weekend, so of course I had to comply! And I am SO happy she asked me because I tweeked the recipe and they turned out waayyyy better than they did the last time! I’m extremely happy with the result and I think you will be too. This is why I say I’m a novice baker– I make mistakes and I redo recipes and find myself embarrassed at my first attempt– but hey we’re all human right?! There’s always room for progress 🙂

IMG_3214

It’s not only that they taste better, it’s that the prep time has changed drastically (no more waiting 4 hours for the dough to rise) and it’s an overall easier process! If I had the staples button I’d hit it right now. (Too corny? Yea, sorry about that)

IMG_3220

mmm.. I just love icing don’t you?

So I’ve used the dough prep from my cinnamon rolls recipes (Cinnamon Rolls Recipe! ) and combined that with the topping and icing from the last time I made these muffins (previous attempt ) to make a much easier and in my opinion way more satisfying muffin.

IMG_3221

To quote my roommate as she pulled apart and took a bite of her first muffin, “Oh my god Bec…. these are heaven.” I absolutely love when people really love what I baked, it’s why I love making things for people!

Ingredients:

For the dough:IMG_3219

  • 3 cups flour
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 package Red Star Active Dry Yeast
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup whole milk
  • 2 and 1/2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 ripe bananas

Cinnamon- Sugar Topping:

  • 1/2 cup butter (1 stick), melted
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1  1/2 tbsp ground cinnamon (you can also use less if you aren’t that big on cinnamon)

Vanilla Glaze:

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

1. In a large bowl place 2 and 1/2 cups of flour, sugar, salt and yeast and mix together.

2. In the microwave melt together the water, milk and butter until the butter is melted and it is too hot to touch. Add this to the flour mixture and stir together. Add the egg and mix well. Lastly add the bananas– it will create a very wet dough. This is when you’ll need to add more flour, I needed the full 1/2 cup of flour. Your dough will be ready when it springs back from your touch and pulls away from the sides of the bowl. It will be slightly  wet which is ok, but you don’t want it to be too sticky!

3. Flour a clean surface and turn out the dough, kneading well for a few minutes. Add flour by tablespoons if it is still too sticky. Lightly butter (or use a non-stick spray) a bowl and place the dough in, let rest for 10-20 minutes. Place cupcake liners into your cupcake tin.

4. In a medium sized bowl mix together the sugar and cinnamon. In another bowl melt the butter completely. Taking the dough, roll it into small balls, about 1/2- 1 inch in diameter. Dip the ball into your bowl of butter and then transfer it to the bowl with cinnamon sugar, and roll it around (we all like sugar right?!) so it’s well coated. Place 3-5 in each liner until the dough is all used up. I purposefully made only 12 but depending on how large you would like your muffins you could make 12-18. Set aside for 30-45 minutes to let the dough rise a bit more.

5. Preheat the oven while the muffins are rising to 400. Bake for 20-23 minutes and let cool. While they are cooling make the icing. Remove the muffins from the tins and pour the icing generously on each and… Enjoy!

IMG_3216

NOM.

4 thoughts on “Banana Monkey Bread Muffins– re done!!

  1. Pingback: Pineapple Sweet Rolls | beesweetsurrender

  2. Pingback: guest post: banana monkey bread muffins | Day-By-Day Masterpiece

Leave a Reply

