Banana Cinnamon Rolls

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Ok, so I have a slight obsession with bananas. And by slight, I mean HUGE. So on this rainy and cold memorial day when  I wish I could have been on a hot beach somewhere, I consoled myself with making these delicious banana stuffed cinnamon rolls.

IMG_3204IMG_3205

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It also seemed like a good day to challenge myself to work with yeast. The hardest part with yeast for me was getting the right temperature when heating up milk or water on a stove top, which often resulted in not allowing the yeast to activate properly. I now use Red Star Active Dry Yeast and I love it. I add the yeast to the flour mixture and set it aside, instead of trying to use the stove top. With this recipe you will heat up the milk, water and butter in the microwave and then add that to the yeast/flour mixture. It’s foolproof!

IMG_3208

So these rolls are so light and fluffy and have that melt in your mouth taste.

IMG_3212

I think I’m underselling these cinnamon rolls. I literally cannot get enough of them. It’s like an explosion of banana with every bite. Every fluffy, buttery, banana filled bite. I like to think that I have pretty good self restraint most of the time. Well, I can tell you right now that I do not have any self control when it comes to these. I’ve already eaten two. And I just took them out of the oven 5 minutes ago. Yup, I didn’t even wait the allotted 10 minute cooling period. And I don’t even regret it!

 

Ingredients:

For the rolls: IMG_3207

  • 3 cups flour
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 package Red Star Active Dry Yeast
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup milk (I used skim)
  • 2 and 1/2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 and 1/2 very ripe bananas

For the filling:

  • 1/2 banana
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 4 tbsp sugar

For the icing:

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp milk

Directions:

1. In a large bowl place 2 and 1/2 cups of flour, sugar, salt and yeast and mix together.

2. In the microwave melt together the water, milk and butter until the butter is melted and it is too hot to touch. Add this to the flour mixture and stir together. Add the egg and mix well. Lastly add the bananas– it will create a very wet dough. This is when you’ll need to add more flour, I needed the full 1/2 cup of flour. Your dough will be ready when it springs back from your touch and pulls away from the sides of the bowl. It will be slightly  wet which is ok, but you don’t want it to be too sticky!

3. Flour a clean surface and turn out the dough, kneading well for a few minutes. Add flour by tablespoons if it is still too sticky. Lightly butter (or use a non-stick spray) a bowl and place the dough in, let rest for 10-20 minutes.

4. In a microwave safe bowl, mash up the 1/2 banana and butter and place in microwave until the butter is melted. Stir well. In a separate bowl mix the sugar and cinnamon.

5. Roll out the dough until it reaches about 15 x 9 in rectangle. Spread the butter and banana mixture on top, leaving a 1/2 inch border on the sides. Sprinkle the cinnamon sugar mixture evenly on top. Starting on one of the long sides, roll up the dough tightly, making sure to punch the ends close.

6. Cut the log into 11 rolls and place in a 9 inch round baking pan. Cover with foil and place in a warm spot until the rolls are doubled in size, about an hour.

7. Preheat the oven to 375 and bake for 25-30 minutes (mine took 30). I cover the rolls lightly with tin foil to prevent them from browning too much.

8. Make the glaze while the rolls are cooling and pour generously over them. Enjoy!

IMG_3209

IMG_3210

NOM.

 

5 thoughts on “Banana Cinnamon Rolls

  1. Pingback: Banana Monkey Bread Muffins– re done!! | beesweetsurrender

  2. Wow, this is so creative, I’ve never seen banana cinnamon buns before! My boyfriend is a cinnamon bun addict and he’ll just adore these I’m sure. I love how there’s hardly any butter in this recipe compared to most cinnamon bun recipes with are just LOADED with it. I am a huge banana lover too, and am happy that now I have another recipe for using up over ripe bananas. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Banana Monkey Bread Muffins– re done!! | BeeSweetSurrender

  4. Pingback: Pineapple Sweet Rolls | beesweetsurrender

Leave a Reply

