Double Chocolate Peppermint Patty Cookies

Again and again I remember why I love baking. Even when things go wrong… cookies stick to the tray, yeast doesn’t rise properly-there’s always a solution… carry on and redo! Simple as that.

IMG_3144

Plus, even when cookies stick to the tray they still taste fantastic. So for these cookies I would advise spraying the tray more than usual or using wax paper, because these guys are capable of sticking.

IMG_3148

Peppermint Patties are probably in the top five of my favorite candy. Dark chocolate and mint combined? Bliss. So of course, I decided I should put them to good use and make this recipe! Usually I give all my baking away, but I’m not ashamed to admit I promptly sat down and ate quite a few of these, straight out of the oven. How could I resist?!

These cookies are super easy and pretty similar to my Double Chocolate Chip Cookies as well. I used an egg white to get a chewier cookie. So gosh darn simple!

Ingredients: IMG_3145

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg white
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp cocoa
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 10 mini peppermint patties, broken into pieces

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 325 and ready your cookie sheets.

2. Mix together the butter and sugars until blended. Add in the egg and egg white. Stir well. Add in the flour, baking soda, salt and cocoa and mix extremely well, until the cocoa is evenly spread throughout. Add the chocolate chips and then the peppermint patty bits last.

3. Form the dough into balls, but allow them to be taller than they are wide on the tray– this helps make sure the cookie does not spread too thin and gives you a nice thick cookie 🙂 Enjoy!

IMG_3147NOM. IMG_3146

4 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Peppermint Patty Cookies

Leave a Reply

