Cadbury Caramel Cake

So this was actually an attempt to make a cake I saw a picture of, but it turned out completely opposite of what I pictured in my head. Don’t you hate that? But at the same time, I actually think this cake still turned out pretty spectacularly. I made it for Easter Sunday dinner with my new Chicago friends. They have kind of adopted me into their little family, and graciously let me be apart of the fam for the holiday, which was especially nice since I’ve always spent Easter with my family.

IMG_2890

Good friends, good food and drink and even better dessert…. what more could a girl ask for?

I’ve also been thinking about taking my blog up a notch. I think there are only a handful of you out there that read this, and that’s totally okay. But this move to Chicago has me thinking… I’ve been here just about three months. I’ve settled into my new job, I’m learning what to do and what not to do. I’ve explored my neighborhood and the city and I think I have a handle on Chicago ( I say that now but who knows). I’ve managed to incorporate working out into my daily schedule on a level that makes me happy and keeps me stress free 🙂 Love life you say? What love life. That one is complicated, but that’s ok. It is what it is for now. Baking has always been my constant, the thing that makes me happy. I love feeding my friends and family yummy treats! (And that way I don’t eat it all) I recently was motivated by my blogging idol Sally to think about moving up with blogging. I emailed her with a few questions and she emailed me back (eeeeek!) AND commented on one of my posts…. I had a bit of a baking nerd moment this morning at work when I saw that. Definitely told my co-workers, who except for Sam, did not understand my child like excitement. Oh well.

I guess I’m writing all of this because I need to see if I have it in me to write…. what do you think? I know, I know…stop blabbing and write the recipe already! Tehe. I can do that 🙂

IMG_2915

Wait! one more thing before I shut up…this recipe is super fun because you get to make your own caramel! This was a first for me, but definitely worth making it rather than buying it 🙂

Ingredients: IMG_2895

Caramel:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 5 tbsp water
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 cup heavy or whipping cream

Cake:

  • 6 eggs
  • 2 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature but still cold
  • 2 1/2 cups sugar
  • 3 tsps vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 3 cups flour
  • 2 tsps baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 4 caramel cadbury eggs & 3 cadbury cream eggs

Directions:

1. First we’re going to make the caramel! So I think everyone has their own version of making caramel, because being a novice I decided to research how to make it first. I combined a few different recipes and this turned out delicious. In a large saucepan, dump the sugar and water and mix together until smooth while over medium heat for a few minutes. Turn up the heat and wait for the sugar to boil– make sure the sugar was smooth before turning the heat up so there are no chunks! This takes some time… I thought I was doing it wrong but don’t worry! Just watch it carefully and shake the pan (especially if your stove is slanted like mine) to make sure it cooks evenly.

IMG_2891IMG_2892IMG_2893

 

 

2. When the caramel starts to brown it’s almost ready! You don’t want it too dark, but make sure it’s all turned a light brown first. Remove from heat and let it sit for a minute. Now being very careful and wearing oven mitts, pour in the heavy cream… it will bubble and spit! Don’t burn yourself! Add the butter and vanilla and stir until smooth. Voila! Caramel.

3. To make the cake: Mix together the butter and sugar until smooth. Separate the eggs, and add in the yolks. Add the rest of the dry ingredients, alternating with the milk to evenly mix the ingredients. Stir in everything until blended. **This is where I made my mistake– I didn’t whip the egg whites until they were fluffy, and this I think might have made the batter thicker and thus keep the cadbury eggs from sinking, like they did in mine. You’ll see the cake will still be delicious, but mine didn’t have cute eggs in the middle. *** Add in the egg whites until incorporated.

4. In the bundt pan, pour in a little over half of the batter. Make sure it’s spread evenly throughout. Pour about half of the caramel over the batter and aim to keep it in the middle, so as to not leak out the sides. Now for the cadbury eggs! Place them pointy side down. Pour the rest of the batter on top.

5. Bake for 55 minutes or until knife comes out clean. You’ll notice mine looks like the cadbury eggs sunk in through the top of the cake and exploded….and that’s because they did. Not exactly what I had in my mind…But I poured more caramel on top and it still tasted delicious. So don’t worry if it doesn’t come out picture perfect…just compare it to mine and laugh! Enjoy!

IMG_2896

NOM.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Cadbury Caramel Cake

  1. Thank goodness the chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter frosting are here too! You have done a really great job of putting this together, Becca! You have a new fan.

Leave a Reply

