Love in a Mason Jar

So I saw this idea almost a year ago, and this is will be the second time I’ve made it. Let me tell you… it’s fantastic. I always have fun with this recipe because I love mixing colors and this weekend was so cold and rainy and snowy and just….gross. Chicago, I love you but come on, let spring come already. I’m dying for some warmth. I’m so pale I’m afraid people will think I actually like Twilight or something horrifying like that. No, I’m not trying to emulate a vampire I am just very, very pale at the moment.

Anywhoooo…back to the rainbow cake… IMG_2606

It’s great because it travels well and is a great gift for those of us who feel the crunch of saving money…Plus the rainbow effect always makes me smile!Ā Ā Ā  šŸ™‚

IMG_2607This is a cake box recipe, sorry to anyone who is offended by this strategy. But come on people, cake box mixes (yellow cake is my favorite) are still legit and delicious.

Your first step is going to have to be getting a hold of some mason jars. I’ve found that Walmart has the best deal, 12 1-pint mason jars for just over $9. Solid deal– mason jars also are great for giving as gifts, I’ve given family members my favorite cookie recipes in them with directions on how to make them for whenever they’re in the mood! Easy and cost effective for everyone.

 

 

Ok, so rainbow cake!

Ingredients:

  • 1 box yellow cake mix (or white if you prefer) —you’ll need eggs, veg. oil & water
  • food dye (I like neon colors, but you can use whatever floats your boat)IMG_2609
  • 4 mason jars
  • Frosting– My favorite with this is buttercream!

Directions:

1. Mix cake to instructions on box and preheat oven to 350.

2. Divide batter into 5 bowls, make sure it’s even! Put in your food dye… I usually make purple, blue, green, yellow and red or pink.

3. Spray your mason jars with non-stick spray. Start with the purple and spread evenly between the four jars. Now, you can pick whatever order you would like at this point. I did purple, blue, green, yellow then red.

4. Get a tray and pour about 1/4 in of water in the bottom. Place your cake batter filled mason jars in and bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

5. Take out and be sure to let cool completely! Ice with your frosting– this is where I get really generous and make sure to put a loooooot of frosting on. Who doesn’t love frosting? šŸ™‚

6. Put on the lid and you’re ready to give away or take to work for a nice treat later, I won’t tell šŸ˜‰ Enjoy!

IMG_2608

 

 

 

NOM.IMG_2610

 

Leave a Reply

