Oreo Truffles

So I’ve finally gotten around to blogging this recipe. The past couple of weeks have been…rough. But I’m making up for it by spending this whole beautiful Sunday with the doors and windows flung wide open and baking anything I come across. So far I’ve made blueberry muffins, invented a chocolate chip muffin recipe for two, these oreo truffles and I’m also making something with pumpkin (it’s almost fall right?) I will most likely attempt another brownie/peanut butter recipe my cousin has been heavily hinting she would like to sample (ahem, Colleen, ahem).

So about this recipe…it’s one of my favorites, in fact on more than one occasion my mom has insisted I make double and triple the recipe so she can give them to her friends as holiday gifts. Hmph. They do make a great present. And travel very well by mail or hand delivery- I’ve sent them both ways and they are always well received.

But really, I love these oreo truffles. They make a bad day turn into a good day, or give you a reason to indulge in some decadent chocolate scrumdidlyumptiousness (new word, make it happen). Best part is? They’re super easy, if only hugely messy. Clean those hands!

Ingredients:

  • Oreos (You’ll need two whole rows of a packet of oreos) with a few extra for topping
  • 8 oz cream cheese (1 full bar)
  • Baker’s Semi-Sweet Chocolate (entire box)

Directions:

1. Place the oreos in a large ziploc bag and close securely. Get out a rolling pin and crush the oreos- this is the fun part, definitely helps get out any of those frustrations you may have.

2. Soften the cream cheese enough so that you can pour it into a large bowl and mix with the crushed oreos. Thoroughly mix and then place bowl in the fridge. (It just makes it easier to mold later)

3. Get a small pot out and unwrap the Baker’s Chocolate and heat over medium heat until the chocolate is smooth. I like a lot of chocolate so I also dump about half a cup of chocolate chips in as well. Take off heat.

4. Get your oreo mixture out of the fridge and mold into small balls, the size is up to you- they are pretty decadent so don’t go over board and make huge golf balls! Dip each ball and coat in the chocolate, then place on a tray covered in wax paper.

5. Crush up another oreo and sprinkle on top of the still soft chocolate. Place in fridge and let set for a minimum of 45 min.

NOM.

 

One thought on “Oreo Truffles

  1. I’ve had these before!! yummm, your mom really does bring these to every party haha. I can’t wait to taste test your peanut butter brownie recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

