Applesauce Muffins with Browned Butter Frosting

Applesauce. How great is applesauce? I’ve met only a few people that don’t like the stuff and one was a very picky 5 year old boy, so he doesn’t even count. And combine them with muffins and you have one of my favorite baked goods. Muffins are just so darn good. I need to invest in a huge muffin tin, so I can make ginormous muffins. But until that day, here are some delicious muffins to keep you satisfied.

Ingredients:

1 cup sugar

1 1/2 cups unsweetened applesauce
1/2 cup (1 stick) softened butter
2 eggs
2 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
Frosting:
1/3 cup butter ( I would advise 1/4, I ended up with too much)
1 tsp vanilla 
3 tbsp milk 
3 cups powdered sugar 
Now with frosting you have to be careful. I still haven’t perfected the perfect icing. I ended up using a lot of powdered sugar, mostly because I think I used too much butter. So add the ingredients together bit by bit until you get a thicker consistency that will stay on your muffins! 
1. Preheat oven to 350. Line muffin tins with wrappers or spray tins. 
2. Mix sugar and butter until blended. Add eggs one at a time and applesauce. 
3. Add dry ingredients slowly until completely mixed. 
4. Fill tins evenly with batter
5. Bake for 25 min 
6. For frosting: see earlier comment next to ingredients! 
And I highly recommend you invest in a mini cupcake/muffin tin….they’re bite sized! 
Enjoy!
3 thoughts on “Applesauce Muffins with Browned Butter Frosting

Leave a Reply

