The best ever chocolate chip cookie

So today’s baking experience involves the ever famous, Levain Chocolate Chip Cookie. Now, I’ve never had the real deal, which is a travesty and I promise I will fix it as soon as possible. BUT this is the closest I can get at the moment. So if you have no idea what I’m talking about, here is an idea of what we’re talking about…

http://www.levainbakery.com/menu/chocolate-chip-walnut/

I advise playing around on their website. You can see a live video feed from their store. Now the picture of the cookie might be a bit misleading, this cookie is HUGE. And it’s crispy on the outside but gooey on the inside….ahhh perfection.

So here’s my take on it. Warning: this is NOT a healthy recipe. Suck it up. Eat a cookie, revel in the cookie, drink a glass of milk with the cookie and then if you’re still feeling guilty, go to the gym. It’s what I do and it seems to work.

Ingredients:

2 sticks butter– I cut mine up into squares to mix in, just to see the difference between cold butter and melted butter. It seems to give the dough a thicker feel. (and ps, I warned you this wasn’t healthy)

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1.5 cups light brown sugar

2 eggs

3 cups flour

1.5  tsp salt (I prefer sea salt)

2 tsp cornstartch

1 & 1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

2 cups chocolate chips – I used semi-sweet

Optional – 1/2 block of semi-sweet or dark chocolate… I say optional to be polite. DO IT.

1. Mix together butter and sugars until smooth. Add the eggs one at a time until mixed.

2. Mix together flour, salt, cornstarch, baking powder & baking soda and add to wet mix slowly until fully blended. Grate the chocolate.

3. My mix was pretty thick and I hate dealing with mixers, so I blended in my chocolate chips and chocolate shavings by hand.

4. Now here comes the questionable part. How does the Levain Bakery get their cookies to be so gooey on the inside? I chose to divide my dough into balls ( I did about 18, so they’re pretty big) and put them in the freezer on their trays. I’m still experimenting with the time frame, but I figured I’d start with 30 min in the freezer.

5. Take trays out of freezer and turn oven on to 375. Bake for about 18 min- make sure to watch over them however, as ovens vary and I had to play around by adding time for my cookies.

Now I know these won’t be THE Levain Choc Chip Cookie, esp since I left out the walnuts, but they are pretty darn good. Bit crispy on the outside and warm and gooey on the inside. Nom. Now to figure out how they get them to rise and be crispy… the quest continues!

2 thoughts on “The best ever chocolate chip cookie

Leave a Reply

